CBD is rapidly growing more popular. But who can buy it, exactly? That depends on where you live! Some states allow CBD sales for anyone over 18, while others have raised the age limit to 21. Keep reading to learn more.
Table of Contents
- How old do you have to be to buy CBD in the USA?
- Federal Laws: Is CBD legal in the USA?
- How old to buy CBD: a state-by-state look
- CBD age limit requirements:
- Summing things up
How old do you have to be to buy CBD in the USA?
18 or 21, depending on where you live. In other words, 18 is the Federal age limit for buying CBD. But some states have passed legislation that goes above and beyond these initial requirements. In general, states that aren’t friendly towards cannabis also tend to have a higher age requirement (21) for CBD sales. Keep reading to learn more.
Federal Laws: Is CBD legal in the USA?
CBD has been used for medicinal purposes across history, but it’s only recently that CBD oils and extracts have hit America’s mainstream market. With marijuana legalization on the rise, people are naturally curious about CBD oil’s legality – after all, CBD is derived from cannabis plants like hemp and psychoactive cannabis (a.k.a “marijuana”).
How does the 2018 Farm Bill and FDA define hemp-derived CBD products?
“A. At the federal level, the Agriculture Improvement Act of 2018, Pub. L. 115-334, (the 2018 Farm Bill) was signed into law on Dec. 20, 2018. Among other things, this new law changes certain federal authorities relating to the production and marketing of hemp, defined as “the plant Cannabis sativa L. and any part of that plant, including the seeds thereof and all derivatives, extracts, cannabinoids, isomers, acids, salts, and salts of isomers, whether growing or not, with a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol concentration of not more than 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis.” These changes include removing hemp from the CSA, which means that cannabis plants and derivatives that contain no more than 0.3 percent THC on a dry weight basis are no longer controlled substances under federal law.
The 2018 Farm Bill, however, explicitly preserved FDA’s authority to regulate products containing cannabis or cannabis-derived compounds under the FD&C Act and section 351 of the Public Health Service Act (PHS Act). FDA treats products containing cannabis or cannabis-derived compounds as it does any other FDA-regulated products — meaning they’re subject to the same authorities and requirements as FDA-regulated products containing any other substance. This is true regardless of whether the cannabis or cannabis-derived compounds are classified as hemp under the 2018 Farm Bill.” 
For now, the legality of cannabis is quite a complicated issue. In half of the states, it can be used for medical purposes. 17 states allow CBD products high in CBD but low in THC. The Farm Bill, or Trump Act, makes CBD legal in many states. However, don’t forget that this Act is federal, whereas every state has its stipulations regarding how and when you can use CBD oils and CBD products.
How old to buy CBD: a state-by-state look
How old do you have to be to buy CBD products in Florida?
As we mentioned earlier, CBD laws vary from state to state. Here are some of the highlights and lowlights for CBD Florida Laws. Here’s some info from the Orlando Law Group:
“CBD and Hemp are legal to both cultivate and consume in the state of Florida for anyone over the age of 18 so long as the product contains less than 0.3% THC content. While no licensing is required to consume hemp products in Florida, licensing is required for those who wish to grow and/or sell hemp products.
To sell CBD/Hemp Products in an ingestible manner, whether prepackaged or not you must have a food establishment permit. Additionally, there are further licensing requirements if your products have dairy or frozen components. Topical CBD application is considered a cosmetic and so long as you are selling the topical in or into Florida in its original packaging no license is required to sell.”
How old do you have to be purchase CBD products in Indiana?
Indiana is currently undergoing a period of both hemp (CBD) and cannabis (THC) reform. When it comes to buying CBD products, this activity is legal for anyone over the age of 18. A recent bill just made it easier for residents to access medical marijuana — here are the details from the Indy Star:
“Senate Bill 321 – What it says: Establishes a five-year medical cannabis pilot program administered by the Indiana State Department of Health. The bill reduces the penalty for possession of marijuana, hashish, hash oil, and salvia to a Class C infraction for a first offense; a Class C misdemeanor for a second or subsequent offense; and a Class A misdemeanor for a second or subsequent offense if the person possesses more than a specified amount.”
How does buying CBD work in Michigan?
Here’s some helpful info from a top Michigan law firm: “In Michigan, CBD products derived from hemp or marijuana are both legal.
The passage of laws legalizing cannabis in Michigan opened the doors for all legal-aged individuals (21 and over) to possess cannabis and CBD-related products.
At this time, only those with a valid Michigan Medical Marijuana card may purchase THC products. There are no legal sales of THC products to those without a valid Michigan Medical Marijuana card.
True CBD oil derived from hemp is more widely available as it doesn’t contain THC. Although you may purchase and possess these items in Michigan, you must remain careful about transporting and possessing these products in other states.
Marijuana and CBD derived from marijuana are both illegal federally. Therefore, you cannot possess them on federally owned or operated land (think national parks, federal buildings, etc).”
What is the legal age to purchase CBD in Texas?
Here’s some helpful info from the Texas State Law Library:
“In the past several years, there have been changes in how CBD is viewed under the law at both the state and federal levels. Below are links to read the text of this legislation. At the federal level, the 2018 Farm bill went into effect on December 20th, 2018. House Bill 1325, the Texas bill that created Chapters 121 and 122 of the Texas Agriculture Code, became effective on June 10th, 2019.
Popularly known as the “2018 Farm Bill,” the Agriculture Improvement Act of 2018 made significant changes to how CBD is viewed at the federal level. Most notably, it defines “hemp” as cannabis with a THC concentration of less than 0.3% by dry weight and removes it from the federal controlled substances schedules.
This chapter of the Texas Agriculture Code, introduced in June of 2019, requires the state to develop a plan to monitor and regulate the production of industrial hemp.
This chapter of the Texas Agriculture Code, introduced in June of 2019, puts statutory requirements in place surrounding the cultivation of hemp, including licensure and testing.”
What’s the CBD age in Massachusetts?
While anyone over the age of 18 can buy CBD products in Massachusetts, the State isn’t quite as open when it comes to cannabis/marijuana laws. Here’s some info from North of Boston:
“Have your ID ready. First of all, remember that you have to be 21 to purchase and consume cannabis legally. No exceptions. And there will be no fooling a dispensary or getting by without an official government-issued ID the way some people get around the law when it comes to buying alcohol under age. The rules are strict with cannabis sales and your ID will be checked and rechecked before you are allowed into the establishment, let alone to make a purchase.
There are buying limits. There are limits for how much cannabis any person can buy at a time, regardless of whether you are a resident of Massachusetts or not. The current possession limit is one ounce, where not more than five grams of marijuana can be in the form of marijuana concentrate. That can get confusing when you are purchasing different kinds of products in a dispensary. Your budtender and other dispensary staff will be able to help guide you when making purchases to ensure you stay under the legal limit. Keep in mind that they also are prohibited from selling you more than that amount per transaction, so don’t try to convince or coerce them into selling you more. That is illegal and will land everyone involved in hot water.
Public consumption is not allowed. While it is legal to possess cannabis products in public, any consumption of marijuana in public or smoking marijuana in an area where smoking tobacco is prohibited is also in violation of the law. Non-locals might think that Massachusetts residents walk down the street smoking cannabis like tobacco, but that is completely false. Don’t make this mistake and end up with serious consequences!”
CBD age limit requirements:
Do you have to be 18 to buy CBD Oil?
That depends. On the Federal level, you must be at least 18 to buy CBD. On a state-by-state level, however, it’s very important to check with state law first. Some states require you to be 21 to buy your own CBD.
Or do you have to be 21 to buy CBD Oil?
As we said above, it depends on where you live! It also depends on where you shop. If you’re between the ages of 18 and 21 you’ll likely fare much better shopping for CBD online, as opposed to visiting a dispensary (most dispensaries are strictly 21+).
Is it even safe for children to take CBD Oil?
While minors can’t legally buy CBD products, they can still legally use it. But should they? That’s up to parental discretion. MD Paul Mitrani cautions that there are still many unknowns surrounding child CBD use:
“The biggest problem is there’s a lot that we still need to know, especially in kids,” Mitrani tells the Child Mind Institute. “In regards to treating mental health disorders in children and adolescents, there’s a lack of evidence to support its use.”
And if you give CBD products to your child (or children) for sleep, Mitrani “your child may become tolerant to it and possibly experience worsening sleep problems if stopped.” His viewpoint is that CBD use should be reserved for children with epilepsy or autism — even if the compound is legal for all.
Yet other experts, like pediatric neurologist and former GW Pharma advisor Dr. Ethan Russo, take a more liberal approach. He explains more in his landmark study, entitled Cannabis Therapeutics and the Future of Neurology:
- “Sporadic case reports of successful utilization of THC in seizures associated with severe neurological conditions in children in Germany followed, but the prime focus returned to CBD due to strong anticonvulsant results in laboratory investigation…”
- “Case reports from Canada documented total regression of residua in two pilocytic astrocytomata in children after smoked cannabis. Careful laboratory analysis has established synergistic benefits of combinations of THC, CBD, and standard chemotherapy…”
Keep reading to learn more about CBD age requirements, because we’ll be covering several other factors in the following section!
The real minimum age requirement for CBD?
It’s true — there’s no actual age requirement you need to meet to take CBD! There are just requirements in place needed for you to buy it.
Summing things up
At Unabis we believe every person has the power to improve their health. Providing premium CBD is what we’re all about!
We also believe your well-being, wellness, harmony, and happiness are closer than you might think. You might be only one step away from complementing your everyday routine with premium, safe, and effective CBD products for living in your best health possible.
If you’re over the age of 18, we have some premium CBD products for you. Click here to check out our extensive online selection. You’ll probably find the online shopping experience way easier (and less stressful) than getting carded at your local dispensary.
Disclaimer: The statements made regarding cannabis plant (CBD) products have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. CBD products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.
In some states you do! You also need to be 21+ if you’re trying to buy CBD from a local dispensary. How old do you have to be to buy hemp? You can buy CBD-free hemp products at any age. If products contain CBD or other cannabinoids, however, then you must be at least 18 to purchase.
No, it is not. The parents of minors, however, are nonetheless free to supply CBD to their children. This is often done for children with epilepsy or other conditions that CBD usually helps.
18 or 21, depending on where you live. That’s because CBD edibles are viewed the same way as any other hemp-derived CBD products.